Indian T20 League | Team Rajasthan

Team History

  • Year 2008- Team Rajasthan had smashed the opinions of others and lift the inaugural Indian T20 League trophy.
  • Year 2009- Team Rajasthan ranked sixth out of the other eight teams.
  • Year 2010- Team Rajasthan failed to win for the second time, and they ranked seventh in this year’s Indian T20 League.
  • Year 2011- Team Rajasthan bought in some serious pace attackers and finished sixth.
  • Year 2012- Team Rajasthan finished in seventh place on the points table after a disappointing Indian T20 League season.
  • Year 2013- Team Rajasthan won the eliminator round; however, they lost the Qualifier 2 round.
  • Year 2014- Team Rajasthan failed to qualify for the playoffs, and then they finished fifth.
  • Year 2015- Team Rajasthan team reached the playoffs then finished fourth.
  • Year 2016- Team Rajasthan team was banned due to the spot-fixing fiasco.
  • Year 2017- Team Rajasthan team was banned due to the spot-fixing fiasco.
  • Year 2018- Team Rajasthan had made their comeback after a two-year spot-fixing ban.
  • Year 2019- One more disappointing year for Team Rajasthan, as they finished the season by getting 7th place.
  • Year 2020- Finished 8th.
  • Year 2021 – The team did not qualify for the playoffs and finished 7th
  • Yer 2022 – The Royals were helped to their second Indian T20 League final by Jos Buttler’s remarkable batting performance, which included 863 runs in 17 games. With nine wins and five losses, Rajasthan ended in second position overall on the points standings. They suffered two playoff losses against the new squad Gujarat. The Purple and Orange caps were won by Buttler and Yuzvendra Chahal, who took 27 wickets in 17 games.

All-time Team Stats

  • Highest Team Total: 223 vs Chennai (2010)
  • Lowest Team Total: 58 vs Bangalore (2009)
  • Lowest team total: 85/10 (16.1) Vs Kolkata Knight Riders (2021)

All-time Team Captains and Stats


2021 S. Samson (Captain)Ranked 7th
2020 S. Smith (Captain)Ranked 8th
2019 A. Rahane (Captain)Ranked 7th
2018 A. Rahane (Captain)Ranked 4th
2015 Shane Watson (Captain)Ranked 4th
2014 Shane Watson (Captain)Ranked 5th
2013 Rahul Dravid (Captain)Ranked 3rd
2012 Rahul Dravid (Captain)Ranked 7th
2011 Shane Warne (Captain)Ranked 6th
2010 Shane Warne (Captain)Ranked 7th
2009 Shane Warne (Captain)Ranked 6th
2008 Shane Warne (Captain)Ranked 1st


Current team Captain and Key Players

S. Samson (Captain)

J. ButlerR. Ashwin
Y. JaiswalY. chahal

Rajasthan Retained Players List 2023

Tejas Brocka, Corbin Wass, Karun Nair, Rashi Ben, der Dussen, Nathan Coulter, Nile Daryl, Mitchell James, Neeshamm, Shubham Agarwal, Anunay Singh 

SWOT Analysis of Rajasthan for Indian T20 League 2023


  • Multiple match-winners in the top-order batting lineup.


  • Lack of pace-bowling attack support for Jofra Archer.


  • Punjab has a favorable record in the UAE and India.


  • Punjab’s overseas slots may cause dilemmas in the selection process.