MicrosoftTeams-image (6)

Indian T20 League | Team Punjab Kings

Team History

  • Year 2008- KXIP team finished by getting the third rank in the first IPL season.
  • Year 2009- KXIP team finished the tournament by getting 5th place.
  • Year 2010- KXIP finished last on the points table at the eighth position.
  • Year 2011- Adam Gilchrist was selected as the new captain after replacing Kumar Sangakkara.
  • Year 2012- KXIP finished the season after getting sixth position.
  • Year 2013- Another disappointing season for the team, as they finish the IPL season in 6th place.
  • Year 2014- The KXIP squad had finished runner-up after losing to KKR in the finals.
  • Year 2015- KXIP finished the season at 8th place, which is the last rank on the table.
  • Year 2016- Again, luck did not favour KXIP's team for the second season in a row as they again ended the season in the 8th place.
  • Year 2017- They finished fifth on the points table.
  • Year 2018- KXIP finished seventh.
  • Year 2019- KXIP finishes the season at 6th place.
  • Year 2020- Could not win the finals and finished at sixth rank.

All-time Team Stats

  • Highest Team Total: 143 vs Warriors (2012)
  • Lowest Team Total: 73 vs Supergiant (2017)


All-time Team Captains and stats

2020 Ravichandran Ashwin (Captain) Ranked 6th
2019 Ravichandran Ashwin (Captain) Ranked 6th
2018 Ravichandran Ashwin (Captain) Ranked 7th
2017 Glenn Maxwell (Captain) Ranked 5th
2016 David Miller (Captain) Ranked 8th
2015 George Bailey (Captain) Ranked 5th
2014 George Bailey (Captain) Ranked 2nd
2013 Adam Gilchrist (Captain) Ranked 6th
2012 Adam Gilchrist (Captain) Ranked 6th
2011 Adam Gilchrist (Captain) Ranked 5th
2010 Kumar Sangakkara (Captain) Ranked 8th
2009 Yuvraj Singh (Captain) Ranked 5th
2008 Yuvraj Singh (Captain) Ranked 3rd


Current team Captain and Key Players

KL Rahul (Captain)

Chris Gayle Mohammad Shami
Glenn Maxwell Sheldon Cottrell

Punjab Kings Retained Players List 2021

KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Mandeep Singh, Nicholas Pooran, Ishan Porel, Sarfaraz Khan, Murugan Ashwin, Deepak Hooda, Mohammed Shami, Chris Jordan, Ravi Bishnoi, Harpreet Brar, Prabhsimran Singh, Darshan Nalkande, Arshdeep Singh, Dawid Malan, Jhye Richardson, Shahrukh Khan, Riley Meredith, Moises Henriques, Jalaj Saxena, Utkarsh Singh, Fabian Allen, Saurabh Kumar

SWOT Analysis of Punjab Kings for IPL 2021


  • KXIP has a dangerous opening player's combination and has a number of all capable batsmen for the middle order.


  • KXIP's Indian fast bowl attack has no depth and lack excellent, wicket-taking spinners.


  • KXIP has a favorable record in the UAE.


  • KXIP's overseas slots may cause dilemmas in the selection process.

Meet your new team leader, Top Scorer! Create your NFL or sports website, win the online sports game and dominate your competition.

b Monday-Friday: 9am to 5pm;

Satuday: 10am to 2pm