Indian T20 League | Team Punjab

Team History

  • Year 2008- Punjab team finished by getting the third rank in the first Indian T20 League season.
  • Year 2009- Punjab team finished the tournament by getting 5th place.
  • Year 2010- Punjab finished last on the points table at the eighth position.
  • Year 2011- Adam Gilchrist was selected as the new captain after replacing Kumar Sangakkara.
  • Year 2012- Punjab finished the season after getting sixth position.
  • Year 2013- Another disappointing season for the team, as they finish the Indian T20 League season in 6th place.
  • Year 2014- The Punjab squad had finished runner-up after losing to Kolkata in the finals.
  • Year 2015- Punjab finished the season at 8th place, which is the last rank on the table.
  • Year 2016- Again, luck did not favour Punjab’s team for the second season in a row as they again ended the season in the 8th place.
  • Year 2017- They finished fifth on the points table.
  • Year 2018- Punjab finished seventh.
  • Year 2019- Punjab finishes the season at 6th place.
  • Year 2020- Could not win the finals and finished at sixth rank.
  • Year 2021 – After playing really well in the first half, they lost touch and finished 6th

All-time Team Stats

  • Highest Team Total: 143 vs Warriors (2012)
  • Lowest Team Total: 73 vs Supergiant (2017)

All-time Team Captains and Stats

2021 KL Rahul (Captain) Ranked 6th 
2020 R. Ashwin (Captain)Ranked 6th
2019 R. Ashwin (Captain)Ranked 6th
2018 R. Ashwin (Captain)Ranked 7th
2017 G. Maxwell (Captain)Ranked 5th
2016 D. Miller (Captain)Ranked 8th
2015 G. Bailey (Captain)Ranked 5th
2014 G. Bailey (Captain)Ranked 2nd
2013 A. Gilchrist (Captain)Ranked 6th
2012 A. Gilchrist (Captain)Ranked 6th
2011 A. Gilchrist (Captain)Ranked 5th
2010 Kumar Sangakkara (Captain)Ranked 8th
2009 Yuvraj Singh (Captain)Ranked 5th
2008 Yuvraj Singh (Captain)Ranked 3rd


Current team Captain and Key Players

S. Dhawan (Captain)

K. RabadaS. Khan
J. BaistowM. Agarwal

Punjab Kings Retained Players List 2023

Sandeep Sharma ,Prerak Makad, Ritika Chatterjee, Ansh Patel, Ishaan Portal, Vein Howell ,Mayank Agarwal ,Audio Smith, Vaibhav Arora

SWOT Analysis of Team Punjab for Indian T20 League 2023


  • Team Punjab has a dangerous opening player’s combination and has a number of all capable batsmen for the middle order.


  • Punjab’s Indian fast bowl attack has no depth and lack excellent, wicket-taking spinners.


  • Punjab has a favorable record in the UAE & India.


  • Punjab’s overseas slots may cause dilemmas in the selection process.