MicrosoftTeams-image (7)

Indian T20 League | Kolkata Knight Riders

Team History

  • Year 2008- Sourav Ganguly became the first captain of the KKR.
  • Year 2009- Ganguly was removed from the captaincy.
  • Year 2010- Sourav Ganguly was reinstated as the captain of the Knight Riders.
  • Year 2011- Ganguly was sacked. The decision was badly criticized by fans.
  • Year 2012- Sunil Narine had picked up 24 wickets.
  • Year 2013- KKR had finished their tournament on the sixth rank, after giving several great performances.
  • Year 2014- KKR defeated KXIP and won the IPL trophy for the second time.
  • Year 2015- KKR finished fifth.
  • Year 2016- KKR reached the playoffs, but they finished fourth.
  • Year 2017- KKR reached the playoffs, but the team had faced an upset again in the second qualifier to exit the tournament third.
  • Year 2018- KKR reached Qualifier 2, lost the match out of the tournament, and finished third.
  • Year 2019- Another disappointing year as KKR finishes the season in 5th place.
  • Year 2020- Couldn’t win the final.

All-time Team Stats

  • Highest Team Total: 245/6 vs KXIP (2018)
  • Lowest Team Total: 67 vs MI (2008)

All-time Team Captains and Stats

2019 Dinesh Karthik (Captain) Ranked 5th
2018 Dinesh Karthik (Captain) Ranked 3rd
2017 Gautam Gambhir (Captain) Ranked 3rd
2016 Gautam Gambhir (Captain) Ranked 4th
2015 Gautam Gambhir (Captain) Ranked 5th
2014 Gautam Gambhir (Captain) Winners
2013 Gautam Gambhir (Captain) Ranked 6th
2012 Gautam Gambhir (Captain) Winners
2011 Gautam Gambhir (Captain) Ranked 4th
2010 Sourav Ganguly (Captain) Ranked 6th
2009 Brendon Mccullum (Captain) Ranked 8th
2008 Sourav Ganguly (Captain) Ranked 6th


Current team Captain and Key Players

Eoin Morgan (Captain)

Andre Russell Sunil Narine
Dinesh Karthik Shubman Gill
Kuldeep Yadav

MI Retained Players List 2021

Eoin Morgan (c), Dinesh Karthik, Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Eoin Morgan, Rahul Tripathi, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Chris Green, Pat Cummins, Varun Chakravarthy, Lockie Ferguson, Kuldeep Yadav, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Prasidh Krishna, Harry Gurney, Sandeep Warrier.

SWOT Analysis of Kolkata Knight Riders for IPL 2021


  • Stellar batting line-up and have the Quality pace bowlers


  • KKR lacks the depth in the spin bowling department


  • KKR Become the second most successful Indian Premier League team alongside CSK.


  • Injuries to the key players

Meet your new team leader, Top Scorer! Create your NFL or sports website, win the online sports game and dominate your competition.

b Monday-Friday: 9am to 5pm;

Satuday: 10am to 2pm