Indian T20 League | Team Kolkata

Team History

  • Year 2008- Sourav Ganguly became the first captain of the Kolkata.
  • Year 2009- Ganguly was removed from the captaincy.
  • Year 2010- Sourav Ganguly was reinstated as the captain of the Team Kolkata.
  • Year 2011- Ganguly was sacked. The decision was badly criticized by fans.
  • Year 2012- Sunil Narine had picked up 24 wickets.
  • Year 2013- Kolkata had finished their tournament on the sixth rank, after giving several great performances.
  • Year 2014- KKR defeated Kolkata and won the Indian T20 League trophy for the second time.
  • Year 2015- Kolkata finished fifth.
  • Year 2016- Kolkata reached the playoffs, but they finished fourth.
  • Year 2017- Kolkata reached the playoffs, but the team had faced an upset again in the second qualifier to exit the tournament third.
  • Year 2018- Kolkata reached Qualifier 2, lost the match out of the tournament, and finished third.
  • Year 2019- Another disappointing year as Kolkata finishes the season in 5th place.
  • Year 2020- Couldn’t win the final.
  • Year 2021 – Finished in the top four in playoffs after their disastrous start to the season
  • Year 2022 – From the team that took Kolkata to the game in the 2021 season, only 4 players were retained. The players were V Chakravarthy, A Russell, V Iyer, and S Narine. In the mega-auction, the two-time winners paid INR 12.25 crores for the services of former Delhi captain Shreyas Iyer, and ultimately chose to make him their captain. 

    Kolkata had a hit-and-miss season, managing only 6 victories in 14 games, and placing seventh in the standings. 

All-time Team Stats

  • Highest Team Total: 245/6 vs Punjab (2018)
  • Lowest Team Total: 67 vs Mumbai (2008)

All-time Team Captains and Stats

2021 E. Morgan (Captain)Ranked 4th
2020 E. Morgan (Captain)Ranked 5th 
2019 D. Karthik (Captain)Ranked 5th
2018 D. Karthik (Captain)Ranked 3rd
2017 G. Gambhir (Captain)Ranked 3rd
2016 G. Gambhir (Captain)Ranked 4th
2015 G. Gambhir (Captain)Ranked 5th
2014 G. Gambhir (Captain)Winners
2013 G. Gambhir (Captain)Ranked 6th
2012 G. Gambhir (Captain)Winners
2011 G. Gambhir (Captain)Ranked 4th
2010 Sourav Ganguly (Captain)Ranked 6th
2009 Brendon Mccullum (Captain)Ranked 8th
2008 Sourav Ganguly (Captain)Ranked 6th

Current team Captain and Key Players

A. Russel (Captain)

S. BillingsV. Iyer
M. NabiS. Narine
P. Cummins 

Kolkata Retained Players List 2023

Sam Billings, Pat Cummins, Mohammad Nabi, Aman Khan, Shivam Mavi, Chamka Karunaratne ,Alex Hales ,Sheldon Jackson , Aaron Finch , Rasikh Salaam ,Ramesh Kumar, Pratham Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Baba Indrajit, Abhijeet Tomar, Alex Hales

SWOT Analysis of Kolkata for Indian T20 League 2023


  • Stellar batting line-up and have the Quality pace bowlers


  • Kolkata lacks depth in the spin bowling department


  • Kolkata Become the second most successful Indian T20 League team alongside Chennai.


  • Injuries to the key players