MicrosoftTeams-image (4)

Indian T20 League | Team Delhi Capitals

Team History

  • Year 2008- DC reached to the semi-finals; however, knocked out by the Rajasthan Royals.
  • Year 2009- Reached the semi-finals against Deccan Chargers. However, they could not win the IPL trophy.
  • Year 2010- Delhi Daredevils managed to enter in semi-finals finishing fifth.
  • Year 2011- One more disappointing IPL season for team Daredevils, finished at the 10th place.
  • Year 2012- Delhi crumbled again at the semi-finals but finished by the third rank on the points table.
  • Year 2013- Delhi Daredevils finished got the 9th place at the bottom of the point table.
  • Year 2014- Delhi Daredevils finished got 8th place at the bottom of the point table.
  • Year 2015-¬†Delhi Daredevils again finished by getting the seventh rank in this season.
  • Year 2016- They were the favorites to reach the playoffs, but they finished by getting the sixth rank on the points table.
  • Year 2017- Finished sixth in the 2017 season of IPL.
  • Year 2018- It was not a good season for the Delhi team, but they finished the tournament in eighth place.
  • Year 2019- They lost in the playoffs and then ended as second runners-up.
  • Year 2020- Could not win the finals.

All-time Team Stats

  • Highest Team Total: 143 vs MI (2020)
  • Lowest Team Total: 66 vs MI (2017)

All-time Team Captains and Stats

2020 Shreyas Iyer (Captain) Ranked 2nd
2019 Shreyas Iyer (Captain) Ranked 3rd
2018 Shreyas Iyer (Captain) Ranked 8th
2017 Zaheer Khan (Captain) Ranked 8th
2016 JP Duminy (Captain) Ranked 6th
2015 Kevin Pietersen (Captain) Ranked 7th
2014 David Warner (Captain) Ranked 8th
2013 Ross Taylor (Captain) Ranked 9th
2012 Mahela Jayawardene (Captain) Ranked 3rd
2011 James Hopes (Captain) Ranked 10th
2011 James Hopes (Captain) Ranked 10th
2010 Dinesh Karthik (Captain) Ranked 5th
2009 Gautam Gambhir (Captain) Ranked 3rd
2008 Virender Sehwag (Captain) Ranked 4th


Current team Captain and Key Players

Shreyas Iyer (Captain)

Shikhar Dhawan Jason Roy
Rishabh Pant Amit Mishra

Delhi Capitals Retained Players List 2021

Rohit Sharma, Aditya Tare, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Dhawal Kulkarni, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Jasprit Bumrah, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Quinton de Kock, Rahul Chahar, Suryakumar Yadav, Trent Boult, Chris Lynn, Saurabh Tiwary, Mohsin Khan, Arjun Tendulkar

SWOT Analysis of Delhi Capitals for IPL 2021


  • DC players are the best Indian batting contingent among all the IPL 2020 teams.


  • DC's Indian fast bowling attack is far from solid, and they lack the all-rounders.


  • DC can finally establish themselves as IPL powerhouses.


  • DC may struggle with the new-ball bowling or death-over bowling.

Meet your new team leader, Top Scorer! Create your NFL or sports website, win the online sports game and dominate your competition.

b Monday-Friday: 9am to 5pm;

Satuday: 10am to 2pm