Indian T20 League | Team Chennai Super Kings

Team History

  • Year 2008- The team qualified for the finals but then defeated by team Rajasthan Royals.
  • Year 2009- CSK failed to qualify for the finals as team Royal Challengers Bangalore has defeated them in the semifinals.
  • Year 2010- CSK won their first IPL title in 2010 after they beat team Mumbai Indians and won the match.
  • Year 2011- The CSK team had retained their title and won two IPL tournaments in a row and became the first team who had achieved this.
  • Year 2012- The CSK team reached the finals once again.
  • Year 2013- Mumbai Indians had stopped CSK after reaching out to the finals.
  • Year 2014- CSK team failed to reach the finals; however, they had a great season in the CLT20.
  • Year 2015- Mumbai Indian team defeated Chennai Super Kings again; they lost the finals.
  • Year 2016- Team CSK was suspended.
  • Year 2017- Team CSK was suspended.
  • Year 2018- Team CSK returned to the Indian Premier League and won the third IPL title.
  • Year 2019- CSK reached the finals but failed to win the fourth title.
  • Year 2020 – Could not qualify.

All-time Team Stats

  • Highest Team Total: 246/5 (against Rajasthan Royals on 3 April 2010 at Chennai)
  • Lowest Team Total: 79 (against Mumbai Indians on 5 May 2013 at Mumbai)


All-time Team Captains and stats

2020 Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain) Disqualified
2019 Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain) Runners Up
2018 Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain) Champions
2017 Team Suspended
2016 Team Suspended
2015 Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain) Runners Up
2014 Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain) Playoffs
2013 Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain) Runners Up
2012 Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain) Runners Up
2011 Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain) Champions
2010 Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain) Champions
2009 Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain) Semifinals
2008 Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain) Runners Up


Current team Captain and Key Players

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain)

Suresh Raina Deepak Chahar
Francois du Plessis Lungisani Ngidi

CSK Retained Players List 2021

MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Sam Curran, Karn Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Ambati Rayudu, Josh Hazlewood, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Lungi Ngidi, Mitchell Santner, KM Asif, R Sai Kishore, N Jagadeesan, Ruturaj Gaikwad

SWOT Analysis of CSK for IPL 2021


  • MS Dhoni is CSK's biggest strength.


  • Maybe the lack of their match practice.


  • Benefit from the spin department of CSK.


  • The lower order's heists in addition to the disciplined bowling department.

Meet your new team leader, Top Scorer! Create your NFL or sports website, win the online sports game and dominate your competition.

b Monday-Friday: 9am to 5pm;

Satuday: 10am to 2pm