Indian T20 League | Team Chennai

Team History

  • Year 2008- The team qualified for the finals but was then was defeated by team Team Rajasthan.
  • Year 2009- Team Chennai failed to qualify for the finals as team Bangalore has defeated them in the semifinals.
  • Year 2010- Team Chennai won their first Indian T20 League title in 2010 after they beat team Mumbai and won the match.
  • Year 2011- The Chennai team had retained their title and won two Indian T20 League tournaments in a row and became the first team who had achieved this.
  • Year 2012- The Chennai team reached the finals once again.
  • Year 2013- Mumbai had stopped Chennai after reaching out to the finals.
  • Year 2014- Chennai team failed to reach the finals; however, they had a great season in the CLT20.
  • Year 2015- Mumbai team defeated Chennai again; they lost the finals.
  • Year 2016- Team Chennai was suspended.
  • Year 2017- Team Chennai was suspended.
  • Year 2018- Team Chennai returned to the Indian T20 League and won the third Indian T20 League title.
  • Year 2019- Chennai reached the finals but failed to win the fourth title.
  • Year 2020 – Could not qualify.
  • Year 2021 – Chennai was the first team to qualify for playoffs in the 2021 season
  • Year 2022  –With only 4 victories in 14 games, Chennai had a dismal season in the 15th edition, finishing in the ninth rank. It had only happened twice before that the team had missed the playoffs.

All-time Team Stats

  • Highest Team Total: 246/5 (against Rajasthan on 3 April 2010 at Chennai)
  • Lowest Team Total: 79 (against Mumbai on 5 May 2013 at Mumbai)

All-time Team Captains and Stats

2021 M. Dhoni (Captain)Ranked 2nd
2020 M. Dhoni (Captain)Ranked 7th
2019 M. Singh Dhoni (Captain)Runners Up
2018 M. Singh Dhoni (Captain)Champions
2017 TeamSuspended
2016 TeamSuspended
2015 M. Dhoni (Captain)Runners Up
2014 M. Dhoni (Captain)Playoffs
2013 M. Dhoni (Captain)Runners Up
2012 M. Dhoni (Captain)Runners Up
2011 M. Dhoni (Captain)Champions
2010 M. Dhoni (Captain)Champions
2009 M. Dhoni (Captain)Semifinals
2008 M. Dhoni (Captain)Runners Up



Current team Captain and Key Players

M. Dhoni (Captain)

R. JadejaR. Gaikwad
D. BravoA. Rayudu

Chennai Retained Players List 2023

Robin Uthappa, Narayan Jagadeesan, Avon Bravo, K M Asif, Bhagat Verma, Chris Jordan, Hari Nishant, Adam Milne

SWOT Analysis of Chennai for Indian T20 League 2023


  • M Dhoni is Chennai’s biggest strength.


  • May be the lack of their match practice.


  • Benefit from the spin department of Chennai.


  • The lower order’s heists in addition to the disciplined bowling department.